Yep, you now have to be 18 years old in the state of California to fake bake, Reuters reports. California's previous law banned the use of tanning beds for teens under the age of 14, but it was OK for 15 to 17-year-olds with a parent's permission. Other states have varying laws regarding underage tanning, but the highest age limit that's ever been imposed has been 16.
The AP reports that Illinois, Rhode Island, New York, and Ohio have considered similar laws, so you can expect that other states will start following suit. There's evidence that the UV exposure you get using tanning beds can lead to melanoma (and rates are increasing in young women), so presumably that was the driving force behind the legislation. After age 18, you're legal and responsible for your own stupid decisions (I have the tattoos to prove this logic), including whether or not you want to look like an extra from the Jersey Shore.
What's even more eff'ed up here is that the Indoor Tanning Association is saying it will hurt their business, since five to ten percent of its customers are under 18. The AP article notes that there are more tanning salons in Los Angeles County than Starbucks or McDonald's, which is slightly ridiculous, because isn't LA like the sunniest place on earth?
The fake tanning spray manufacturers and marketers are surely rubbing their hands in glee anticipating this potential new market.