Skip to main content

The Olsens, Hood by Air Nominated for CFDA Awards

And John Waters is hosting.
  • Author:
  • Updated:

At the Bowery Hotel Tuesday evening, CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg and CEO Steven Kolb announced the nominees for this year's CFDA's Fashion Awards -- sure to be as star-studded an event as 2013's was.

There aren't a ton of surprises in this year's list, which includes many of the Awards's usual suspects, such as Marc Jacobs, Alexander Wang and Joseph Altuzarra, all nominated for Womenswear Designer of the Year. It's also the second nomination for Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen of The Row, who are jointly nominated for Accessories Designer of the Year alongside Wang and the Proenza boys.

It's a big year for streetwear-tinged menswear brands. Public School's Maxwell Osborne and Dao-Yi Chow, who won the Swarovski Award (dedicated to up-and-coming talent) last year, are nominated for Menswear Designer of the Year, and Shayne Oliver of Hood by Air is nominated for the Swarovski Award.

The CFDA also gives out several honorary awards and this year's recipients include Tom Ford, Raf Simons, Bethann Hardison (which we reported on Tuesday) and Ruth Finley, from whom the CFDA has recently taken some of the control of the Fashion Calendar. Oh, and John Waters, who has presented at the show in the past, will host. “I’m so excited to be invited back,” he said in a statement, “and I look forward to taking the stage to celebrate the thin line that divides fashion between glamour and creative insanity.”

The awards will be given out Monday, June 2 at an event at Lincoln Center. See below for the full list of nominees and honorees.

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Alexander Wang, Joseph Altuzarra of Altuzarra, Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year: Maxwell Osborne & Dao-Yi Chow for Public School, Marcus Wainwright & David Neville for Rag & Bone, Thom Browne

Accessories Designer of the Year: Alexander Wang, Lazaro Hernandez & Jack McCullough for Proenza Schouler, Mary-Kate Olsen & Ashley Olsen for The Row

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Shane Gabier & Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind, Rosie Assoulin, Wes Gordon

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Tim Coppens, Todd Snyder, Shayne Oliver for Hood by Air

Swarovski Award for Accessories Designer of the Year: Irene Neuwirth, Jennifer Fisher, Marc Alary

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Tom Ford

Media Award: Paul Cavaco

Founders Award: Bethann Hardison

Board of Director’s Tribute Award: Ruth Finley

International Award: Raf Simons