Skip to main content

Public School Nabs Two CFDA Award Nominations

Alexander Wang, however, didn't get nominated! JK.
Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne. Photo: Mireya Acierto/Getty Images

Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne. Photo: Mireya Acierto/Getty Images

On Monday evening, the CFDA and Swarovski held their annual nominee announcement ceremony for the CFDA Awards at their most Instagram-able location yet: the Weather Room at the Top of the Rock. There, some of the biggest and most promising names in New York fashion gathered to sip champagne, gawk at the view and congratulate each other. (Or, in the case of Jenna Lyons and the Olsen sisters, smoke outside.)

The evening's first and, really, only surprise came at the beginning, when CFDA President Diane von Furstenberg announced the honorary award recipients, including the media award, which for the first time will go to a company rather than an individual: Instagram. Sure.

When she announced Betsey Johnson as the recipient of the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, Johnson jumped on stage for a three month early acceptance speech in which she said the word "love" at least 30 times. J.Crew CEO Mickey Drexler will receive the Founders Award, and Valentino creative directors Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli will be given the International Award.

As for the nominees, there are the usual suspects: Joseph Altuzarra, Marc Jacobs, Alexander Wang, The Row and Proenza Schouler. Public School seems to have officially infiltrated that group of designers that gets nominated for something each year. Interestingly, Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne are nominated in both the Menswear Designer of the Year category and the Swarovski (that is, emerging designer) Award for Womenswear category -- the duo launched womenswear for fall 2014.

First-time nominees include Ryan Roche, Orley, Paul Andrew, Ovadia & Sons, Mansur Gavriel and Eva Fehren.

The 2015 CFDA Awards will take place Monday, June 1 at Alice Tully Hall in Lincoln Center. See the full list of nominees below.

Womenswear Designer of the Year: Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra, Marc Jacobs, Michael Kors, Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row. 

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Menswear Designer of the Year: Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne for Public School, David Neville and Marcus Wainwright for Rag & Bone, Thom Browne, Tim Coppens and Tom Ford.

Accessories Designer of the Year: Alexander Wang, Irene Neuwirth, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row and Tabitha Simmons.

Swarovski Award for Womenswear: Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne for Public School, Rosie Assoulin and Ryan Roche.

Swarovski Award for Menswear: Shayne Oliver for Hood by Air; Alex Orley, Matthew Orley and Samantha Orley for Orley; and Ariel and Shimon Ovadia for Ovadia & Sons.

Swarovski Award for Accessories Designer of the Year: Paul Andrew, Eva Zuckerman for Eva Fehren, and Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel.

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Betsey Johnson.

Media Award: Instagram.

Founders Award: Mickey Drexler.

International Award: Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli.