Skip to main content

J.W. Anderson Nominated for Womenswear and Menswear Designer of the Year

London will celebrate its version of the CFDA Awards in a ceremony on Nov. 23.
Designer Jonathan Anderson in March. Photo: John Parra/Getty Images for Loewe

Designer Jonathan Anderson in March. Photo: John Parra/Getty Images for Loewe

Every fall, the top members of London's fashion industry (and quite a few bold-faced names aside) gather to celebrate its best talent, both established and emerging, at the British Fashion Council's annual British Fashion Awards. (New York has its own equivalent, the CFDA Awards, every June.) This year's ceremony will be held at the London Coliseum on Nov. 23, hosted by British comedian and actor Jack Whitehall.

Designer Jonathan Anderson has had a knockout year, showing widely celebrated collections for his own label, J.W. Anderson (which includes both womenswear and menswear), and for Loewe, the LVMH-owned Spanish luxury label he became creative director of in late 2013. London's fashion industry took note, nominating him for both Womenswear and Menswear Designer of the Year, the night's two top honors. Christopher Kane also nabbed two nominations, both for Womenswear and Red Carpet; as did Tom Ford, for Menswear and Red Carpet; and Burberry, who is up for both the Brand and Creative Campaign awards.

For emerging talent especially, a British Fashion Awards nomination can mean more than recognition — it can also result in a serious boost in business. This year's nominees in the Emerging Womenswear Designer category include Faustine Steinmetz, Molly Goddard and LVMH Prize Winner Thomas Tait; for Emerging Menswear Designer, Astrid Andersen, Grace Wales Bonner and Mr Hare were the nominees; and for Emerging Accessory Designer, Charlotte SimoneFernando Jorge and Jordan Askill made the list.

You can browse the full list of nominees below.

Emerging Womenswear Designer
Faustine Steinmetz
Molly Goddard
Thomas Tait

Emerging Menswear Designer
Astrid Andersen
Grace Wales Bonner
Mr Hare

Emerging Accessory Designer
Charlotte Simone
Fernando Jorge
Jordan Askill

New Establishment Designer
Craig Green
Emilia Wickstead
Mary Katrantzou

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Establishment Designer
Margaret Howell
Paul Smith

Womenswear Designer
Christopher Kane
J.W. Anderson
Victoria Beckham

Menswear Designer
E. Tautz
J.W. Anderson
Tom Ford

Accessory Designer
Charlotte Olympia
Sophia Webster
Tabitha Simmons

Red Carpet
Christopher Kane
Tom Ford

Alexander McQueen
Anya Hindmarch
Stella McCartney

Georgia May Jagger
Jourdan Dunn
Malaika Firth

Creative Campaign

In addition to the above, the British Fashion Council will also hand out awards for Outstanding Achievement, British Style, International Designer and the Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator.