Skip to main content

Jennifer Hudson to Perform at CFDA Awards, Joel McHale Will Host [Updated]

Michael C. Hall will also perform a tribute to David Bowie.
Jennifer Hudson at the Met Gala. Photo: Mike Coppola/Getty Images

Jennifer Hudson at the Met Gala. Photo: Mike Coppola/Getty Images

It's T-minus two weeks until the 2016 CFDA Awards, presented in an expanded format at the Hammerstein Ballroom for the first time. The awards were almost televised but the industry organization announced via statement last week that it had decided "to not move forward with a television broadcast opportunity this year." The CFDA is however taking advantage of the new venue to put on a serious show for designers, celebrities and some lucky fashion students

It announced Monday that actor and comedian Joel McHale will be the night's host — joining the ranks of James Corden, John Waters, Seth Meyers and more — and two more special guests will be taking the stage for a musical performance. In tribute to late David Bowie, who is being honored with the Board of Directors’ Tribute, Michael C. Hall is take the stage before Tilda Swinton accepts the award on Bowie's behalf. Hall starred in "Lazarus," a musical written by Bowie, earlier this year. 

Jennifer Hudson, who recently departed "The Color Purple" on Broadway, is also slated to perform. And while the only thing we know about her song is that it will close the show, one might wonder if the fashion industry is planning to pay homage to Prince, too. Hudson and the cast of her show made headlines after the legendary musician's death in April when they delivered a stellar tribute performance of "Purple Rain" after a show. (See Hudson's signature voice in action in the video below.)

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

It's not the first time the CFDA has welcomed a musical guest to its awards. Bernadette Peters performed in honor of Stan Herman when he won the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award in 2006 and Fantasia Barrino sang "New York State of Mind" at 2004's ceremony dedicated to American fashion. 

Update 5/26: The CFDA announced the ceremony's presenters on Thursday, and many of the envelope-openers are fashion event regulars with the exception of two extremely delightful women: Ilana Glazer and Abbi Jacobson. That's right, the ladies of "Broad City" will be on hand on June 6 to present the award for accessories designer of the year. In addition, Claire Danes will announce the womenswear designer of the year, Alexander Skarsgård the menswear designer of the year and Karlie Kloss and Ansel Elgort together will present the Swarovski Awards for womenswear, menswear and accessory design. 

Stay current on the latest trends, news and people shaping the fashion industry. Sign up for our daily newsletter.