Skip to main content

See All the 2017 CFDA/'Vogue' Fashion Fund Finalists

Plus, the program's Selection Committee welcomed four new, big-name judges.
The designers of Vaquera. Photo: Albert Urso/Getty Images

The designers of Vaquera. Photo: Albert Urso/Getty Images

For New York's fashion industry, the past few weeks have been left many of us wondering about the state of New York Fashion Week, as well as the broader American fashion industry. But the Parisian exodus of top brands Altuzarra, Proenza Schouler, Rodarte and Thom Browne only opens up opportunities for New York's up-and-coming design talents. And though the aforementioned labels may have left hefty shoes to fill, there's a new crop of tremendously talented creatives already waiting in the wings.

On Monday, the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund granted just that opportunity to 10 designers, revealing the finalists for the 2017 CVFF — and with it, a shot at winning the $400,000 top prize. (Two runners up will also take home $150,000 each.)

All 10 finalists will receive mentorship by established designers and industry executives, leading up to a final runway show in fashion's new hotbed — Los Angeles — at the Chateau Marmont in October. The winner and two runners-up will be announced at a gala dinner back in New York on November 6.

This year, the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Selection Committee also welcomes four new judges, in addition to the stable of regulars like CFDA Chairwoman Diane von Furstenberg and CFDA President and CEO Steven Kolb, including past CVFF winner Joseph Altuzarra and Eva Chen, as well as Saks Fifth Avenue's Senior Vice President and Fashion Director Roopal Patel and Vogue Runway's Director Nicole Phelps. However, our eagle-eyed friends at Business of Fashion noted that this year, the newly-refreshed judging panel would be without one Anna Wintour, Condé Nast artistic director, Vogue editor-in-chief and hallmark personality of CVFF. She has long been associated with the program, especially following "The Fashion Fund" became an unscripted television series in 2013.

"While Anna's schedule won't allow day-to-day involvement with the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund, she is still incredibly visible in the entire process and competition," Kolb told BoF. "She is aware of each of the applicants, and will be meeting with them in a private setting and attending all CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund events."

See below for the full list of the 2017 CVFF finalists.

Ahlem Manai-Platt (eyewear): Ahlem 

Becca McCharen-Tran (swim and athleticwear): Chromat

Scroll to Continue

Recommended Articles

Christopher Bevans (menswear): Dyne

Victor Glemaud (knitwear): Victor Glemaud

Jordan Askill (jewelry): Jordan Askill

Matthew Harris (jewelry): Mateo New York

Eli Azran (streetwear): RTA

Sandy Liang (womenswear): Sandy Liang

Telfar Clemens (ready-to-wear): Telfar LLC

Patric DiCaprio, Bryn Taubensee, David Moses & Claire Sully (ready-to-wear): Vaquera

Note: This story has been updated to note that Anna Wintour is no longer on the CVFF judging panel.

Never miss the latest fashion industry news. Sign up for the Fashionista daily newsletter.