These Are The Models and Designers Who Had The Best Year on Instagram - Fashionista

These Are The Models and Designers Who Had The Best Year on Instagram

Spoiler alert: Gerbers and at least one Jenner ahead.
Author:
Publish date:
Kaia Gerber and Kendall Jenner. Photo: Tristan Fewings/Getty Images for Bottega Veneta

Kaia Gerber and Kendall Jenner. Photo: Tristan Fewings/Getty Images for Bottega Veneta

On Wednesday, Instagram released its Year in Review report for 2017, highlighting the most popular trends on the platform over the course of the last year. In addition to revealing gems such as the fact that "#love" was the most-used hashtag of the year and that people really went wild for the puppy filter (honestly, same), Instagram also took the opportunity to delve deeper into what the year was like for its fashion industry users. Based on data collected from Jan. 1, 2017 through Nov. 17, 2017, the stats are impressive, if not exactly shocking.

First up, Instagram tracked the designers and fashion labels who gained the most followers in 2017:

  1. Chanel (@chanelofficial): Gained 9.6 million followers.
  2. Gucci (@gucci): Gained 8.1 million followers.
  3. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton): Gained 7 million followers.
  4. Dior (@dior): Gained 5.9 million followers.
  5. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham): Gained 5.7 million followers.
  6. Supreme (@supremeny): Gained 4.8 million followers.
  7. Dolce & Gabbana (@dolcegabbana): Gained 4.5 million followers.
  8. Prada (@prada): Gained 4.3 million followers.
  9. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein): Gained 3.9 million followers.
  10. Versace (@versace_official) Gained 3.5 million followers.

It's no secret that 2017 was, indeed, a very good year for Gucci, and it's interesting to note that Louis Vuitton's collaboration with Supreme may have resulted in an Instagram follower boost, with both brands having made the top 10 list. Dolce & Gabbana's focus on luring the Insta set via millennial and Gen Z-heavy marketing stunts paid off in the form of 4.5 million additional followers in 2017.

Meanwhile, it was a good year for Instamodels as well. The following models gained the most followers on Instagram in 2017:

  1. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner): Gained 12 million followers.
  2. Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid): Gained 8 million followers.
  3. Bella Hadid (@bellahadid): Gained 6 million followers.
  4. Chrissy Teigen (@chrissyteigen): Gained 5 million followers.
  5. Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata): Gained 5 million followers.
  6. Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne): Gained 4 million followers.
  7. Taylor Hill (@taylor_hill): Gained 2 million followers.
  8. Ashley Graham (@theashleygraham): Gained 2 million followers.
  9. Gisele Bündchen (@gisele): Gained 2 million followers.
  10. Hailey Baldwin (@haileybaldwin) : Gained 1.9 million followers

For models, having a strong social media following is often key to landing campaigns and raking in earnings — so it stands to reason that Kendall Jenner's epic 12 million follower gain in 2017 also coincided with her topping the Forbes annual list of the world's highest-paid models.

But established models weren't the only ones dominating Instagram in 2017. The report also highlights follower engagement, and it's interesting to note that the list of models with the most engaged followers doesn't overlap with the data about follower gains. According to Instagram, the following models had the "highest percentage of interactions (likes and comments) relative to number of followers,":

  1. Julia Ratner (@dear.ratner)
  2. Mayowa Nicholas (@mayowanicholas)
  3. Paulina Frankowska (@paulinafrankowska)
  4. Léa Julian (@lea_jul)
  5. Presley Gerber (@presleygerber)
  6. Kaia Gerber (@kaiagerber)
  7. Yasmin Wijnaldum (@yasminwijnaldum)
  8. Vittoria Ceretti (@vittoceretti)
  9. Lauren de Graaf (@laurenjdg)
  10. Selena Forrest (@selenaforrest)

Though perhaps more niche and less likely to be considered household names, those who ranked in this list may very well be the next wave of Instamodels. As many fashion and beauty brands have learned, follower engagement is key when it comes to conversion and sales — so these younger, slightly more fringe models just may be topping influencer lists come 2018.

Sign up for our daily newsletter and get the latest industry news in your inbox every day.